You may take the Tradesman Plumber-Limited Examination if:
- you are a citizen or national of the United States or an alien or non-immigrant eligible for
licensure by the State of Texas;
- you are registered as a Plumber’s Apprentice in Texas or hold a current Journeyman
Plumber or Master Plumber license issued in another state;
- you have at least 4,000 hours of experience working in the plumbing trade; and
- you have completed a 24-hour training course* approved by the TSBPE or you are enrolled and in or have completed a training program approved by the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship.
*If you hold a Journeyman or Master Plumber License issued in another state, you do not have to complete the 24-hour training program.
How to Apply for the Examination
To apply for the Tradesman Plumber-Limited Examination you must submit a completed application with all supporting documentation, your Employer Certification Form(s), and a $36 fee to the TSBPE. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must also submit a Supplemental Criminal History Information Form (SCHIF).
Tradesman Plumber-Limited Examination Application
Employer Certification Form
Supplemental Criminal History Information Form (For Applicants Who HAVE SUBMITTED Fingerprints)
Once you have successfully passed the exam, you must submit a $35 fee to obtain your certificate of licensure and pocket card.
All applicants and examinees in the state of Texas are required by law to submit fingerprint data. This is a one-time requirement; applicants who have previously submitted fingerprint data to the TSBPE are not required to re-submit per application. If the TSBPE has not received fingerprint data for a Tradesman-Limited Exam Applicant, however, the application will remain deficient until the issue has been resolved. For more information on fingerprints or to download instructions for applicants seeking to submit their fingerprints, please see this page.
Scope of Work Permitted
A Tradesman Plumber-Limited may construct, install, repair, service, or renovate plumbing for one and two-family dwellings under the supervision of a Responsible Master Plumber. A Tradesman may also directly supervise a Plumber’s Apprentice on jobsites for one and two-family dwellings. If you are a licensed Tradesman and want to work on a job that involves a structure other than a one or two-family dwelling, you may do so only under the direct supervision of a licensed Journeyman or Master Plumber. Direct supervision means that the Journeyman or Master is on the jobsite with you at all times you are performing plumbing work.
A Tradesman Plumber-Limited may obtain a Drain Cleaner Registration. Click here to learn more about the Drain Cleaner Registration.
Exam Fee: $36
Initial License Fee: $35
Renewal Fee: $35
Late Renewal Fee (expired less than 90 days): $17.50
Late Renewal Fee (expired more than 90 days): $35