You may take the Master Plumber Examination if:
- you are a citizen or national of the United States or an alien or non-immigrant eligible for licensure by the State of Texas;
- you have a high school diploma or General Equivalency Diploma (GED); and
- you are currently licensed as:
- a Journeyman Plumber in Texas or another state and have held your license for at least four years;
- a Journeyman Plumber in Texas or another state, have held your license for at least one year, and have successfully completed a training program approved by the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship;
- a Master Plumber in another state and previously held a Journeyman Plumber License for at least four years;
- a Master Plumber license in another state, previously held a Journeyman Plumber License for at least one year, and have successfully completed a training program approved by the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship.
How to Apply for the Examination
To apply for the Master Plumber Examination you must submit a completed application with all supporting documentation and a $175 fee to the TSBPE. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must also submit a Supplemental Criminal History Information Form (SCHIF).
Master Plumber Examination Application
Supplemental Criminal Hisotry Information Form (for Applicants who HAVE SUBMITTED Fingerprints)
Once you have successfully passed the exam, you must submit a $75 fee to obtain your certificate of licensure and pocket card.
All applicants and examinees in the state of Texas are required by law to submit fingerprint data. This is a one-time requirement; applicants who have previously submitted fingerprint data to the TSBPE are not required to re-submit per application. If the TSBPE has not received fingerprint data for a Master Plumber Exam Applicant, however, the application will remain deficient until the issue has been resolved. For more information on fingerprints or to download instructions for applicants seeking to submit their fingerprints, please see this page.
Scope of Work Permitted
A Master Plumber may install, change, repair, service, or renovate plumbing under the supervision of a Responsible Master Plumber. A Master may also directly supervise a Plumber’s Apprentice on all jobsites or a Tradesman Plumber-Limited on jobsites for structures other than one and two-family dwellings.
A Master Plumber who meets the eligibility requirements may obtain a Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement, a Multipurpose Residential Fire Protection Sprinkler Specialist Endorsement, or a Water Supply Protection Specialist Endorsement. Click here to learn more about endorsements.
Exam Fee: $175
Initial License Fee: $75
Renewal Fee: $75
Late Renewal Fee (expired less than 90 days): $37.50
Late Renewal Fee (expired more than 90 days): $75