You may take the Journeyman Plumber Examination if:
- you are a citizen or national of the United States or an alien or non-immigrant eligible for licensure by the State of Texas;
- you are currently registered as a Plumber’s Apprentice or currently licensed as a Tradesman Plumber-Limited in Texas or currently licensed as Journeyman Plumber or Master Plumber in another state;
- you have at least 8,000 hours of experience working in the plumbing trade; and
- you have completed a 48-hour training course* approved by the TSBPE or you are enrolled and in or have completed a training program approved by the United States Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship.
*If you hold a Journeyman or Master Plumber License issued to you by another state, you do not have to complete the 48-hour training program.
How to Apply for the Examination
To apply for the Journeyman Plumber Examination you must submit a completed application with all supporting documentation, your Employer Certification Form(s), and a $40 fee to the TSBPE. If you have been convicted of a felony, you must also submit a Supplemental Criminal History Information Form (SCHIF).
Journeyman Plumber Exam Application-June 20 2019
Employer Certification Form
Supplemental Criminal History Information Form
Once you have successfully passed the exam, you must submit a $40 fee to obtain your certificate of licensure and pocket card.
Scope of Work Permitted
A Journeyman Plumber may install, change, repair, service, or renovate plumbing under the supervision of a Responsible Master Plumber. A Journeyman may also directly supervise a Plumber’s Apprentice on all jobsites or a Tradesman Plumber-Limited on jobsites for structures other than one and two-family dwellings.
A Journeyman Plumber who meets the eligibility requirements may obtain a Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement, a Multipurpose Residential Fire Protection Sprinkler Specialist Endorsement, or a Water Supply Protection Specialist Endorsement. Click here to learn more about endorsements.
Exam Fee: $40
Initial License Fee: $40
Renewal Fee: $40*
Late Renewal Fee (expired less than 90 days): $20
Late Renewal Fee (expired more than 90 days): $40
*If you hold both a Journeyman and a Master Plumber License, you only have to pay the renewal fee for your Master License.