TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PLUMBING EXAMINERS PO BOX 4200, AUSTIN, TEXAS, 78765 • 512-936-5200 • www.tsbpe.texas.gov

MEDICAL GAS PIPING INSTALLATION ENDORSEMENT EXAMINATION IMPORTANT INFORMATION

You are eligible to take the Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement Examination if you meet the following requirements (check each box that applies to you):

Licensure:

- □ I am currently licensed as a Master Plumber in Texas; OR
- □ I am currently licensed as a Journeyman Plumber in Texas; OR
- □ I am currently licensed as a Plumbing Inspector in Texas.

If you hold more than one license, please check the license you want to add the Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement to.

Classroom Training:

□ I have completed a Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement training program

You must take the training from <u>a Course Provider approved by the TSBPE</u>. A list of approved providers is posted on the website at <u>www.tsbpe.texas.gov</u> under "CPE & Other Training." The provider will notify the TSBPE once you have completed the training.

Application Fee:

I have submitted the non-refundable Medical Gas Piping Installation Endorsement Examination application fee of:

- □ \$80 Master Plumber
- □ \$27 Journeyman Plumber
- □ \$40 Plumbing Inspector

Accepted forms of payment include: cashier's check, money order, personal check, or company check

Required Documentation:

I have submitted all of the supporting documents required by the TSBPE (see Item #11 on application).

IF YOU PROVIDE A LEGIBLE, VALID EMAIL ADDRESS ON YOUR APPLICATION, YOU WILL RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF BOTH YOUR EXAMINATION DATE AND RESULTS VIA EMAIL.

<u>Your Identity Will be Verified:</u> Current (not expired) photographic identification, such as a driver's license or state issued identification, will be required from the applicant on the day of the examination and must be verified before the examination begins.

<u>Americans with Disabilities Act</u>: The TSBPE offers reasonable accommodations for persons taking the examination, as required by the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you require special accommodations, please make such requests in writing and submit with your application for examination.

<u>Studying for the Exam</u>: The examination is designed to measure your knowledge and skill in the installation and design of Medical Gas and Vacuum Piping Systems. The written portion of the examination will consist of questions from the current edition of the National Fire Protection

Association (NFPA) 99 Health Care Facilities Code. Questions may be multiple choice, fill-in the blank or true/false. On the day of the examination, your written examination will be graded and you will be notified whether a passing grade was achieved. Immediate re-examination is not allowed for the written portion of the examination.

Your ability to braze copper joints is only tested on the Journeyman and Master examinations. (The Plumbing Inspector examination does not include a brazing component). The brazing procedure will follow the requirements for the qualification of welders and brazers adopted by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and published in Section IX – Qualification Standard for Welding, Brazing, and Fusing of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. Each examinee will have to braze two (2) one and one-half inch $(1\frac{1}{2})$ vertical upflow joints and two (2) one and one-half inch $(1\frac{1}{2})$ horizontal flow joints. On the day of the examination, your brazing will be graded, and you will be notified whether a passing grade was achieved on each joint. All four joints must pass in order to pass the brazing portion of the exam. If one of your horizontal joints and/or one of your vertical joints does not pass, you will have the opportunity to pay a new examination fee and immediately re-take the brazing portion of the examination.

* For specific procedure information, you may contact the NFPA at (800) 344-3555 or ASME at (800) 843-2763.

Rescheduling an Exam: You must make the request to reschedule an exam. The TSBPE will not accept requests made by your employer, your wife, or a family member. Requests to reschedule must be submitted in writing (email of fax is fine) at least 10 business days before your exam date. The TSBPE will reschedule your exam twice with no charge.

Training Periods for Examination Failures: Anyone who fails the written part of the examination or the brazing on both horizontal and/or both vertical joints must complete a training period before retaking the exam. The length of the training period depends on the number of times a person has failed. (1) First failure: a 30-day training period, (2) Second failure: a 60-day training period, (3) Third and subsequent failures: a 90-day training period.

How to Dress for the Exam: For your safety, please wear long pants and closed-toe shoes on the day of the exam. Shorts and sandals are not allowed.

Equal Opportunity Statement: The Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability in employment or the provision of services.

Revised August 2017

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PLUMBING EXAMINERS PO BOX 4200, AUSTIN, TEXAS, 78765 • 512-936-5200 • www.tsbpe.texas.gov

NSTALLATION ENDOR	SEMENT EXAMINA	TION APPLICATIO	N
► Incomplete applications	expire one year from re	ceipt. (See instruction	s in #11, below.)
	First		MI
State	Zip Code	Tel. #	
	Date of b	irth	Age
nber is required. Your social securit	y number is being solicited p	ursuant to Texas Family Coo	le § 231.302 for use by the
	allation Endorsemen	t Examination you v	vant to take. <u>Your</u>
umber License #		Expiration date	
Journeyman Plumber License #		Expiration date	
ng Inspector License #		Expiration date)
convicted of a felony in <u>#9</u> , you must submit a Su d on page 2 of the Form	this state or any o pplemental Criminal with this application.	ther state? Yes a History Information	or
nber of the military or a v	eteran? □ Yes or □	No	
mitted with this applic bmit all items at one tin 80/Master, \$27/Journeyma	cation in order for ne and in one enve an, or \$40/Inspector	the application t lope. (the fee is non-refund	o be considered
THE BOARD IS A C ON, UP TO AND INCLU	RIMINAL OFFENS	SE AND WILL AL	SO RESULT IN
	Signature o	f Applicant	
	_ ► Incomplete applications of	_ ► Incomplete applications expire one year from re First	umber License # Expiration date rneyman Plumber License # Expiration date ng Inspector License # Expiration date convicted of a misdemeanor in this state or any other state? convicted of a felony in this state or any other state? □ Yes of #9, you must submit a Supplemental Criminal History Information ed on page 2 of the Form with this application. The SCHIF is available

1. SCHED:_____[__] 2. SCHED:_____[__] 3. SCHED:_____[___]

Fee_____ File No. _____

Revised August 2017